Well, that was bit of a worry!


Limited time this week, so we got straight down to business. “Sorry for throwing one combat after another at you guys”, said Dave afterward. Like that’s a bad thing.

We headed “north” from the fungus patch to a lake, where Zutteger reported that the “big bird” was attacked by an Owlbear. Rainor and Rainen ascended to rcon, and sure enough were attacked – by two of them. I cast Fly on His Majesty then used Phantasmal Web, but it really seemed to have little effect on proceedings. A third one attacked, getting Kalos in its claws. Another Phantasmal Web was as useful as the first. Finally I used a scroll of Fly, but by the time I was close enough the others had taken care of things.

We decided to head north up the river, shortcutting our way to Nerissas’s home. After a bit the Fly started to run out, and so I did Phantom Steeds all around. But after a bit, we realised that we had been turned around – the magic of the plane sending us “south”. Suspiciously, we were following Zutteger’s footsteps and sure enough the river froze and we wound up on top of a frozen waterfall, overlooking a graveyard.

Endure Elements all around (from the first wand I ever made!) and we made camp on the frozen river. I covered the area with four overlapping Alarm spells (from another wand) and we set watch.

Before midnight, the alarms went off and we were blasted with an enormous fire evocation of some sort. Then these crystaline insect things came up out of the ice. I used Shadow Conjuration to create the effect of Acid Fog, but it did little but get in the way of eveyone else. A Fireball, converted to lightning worked rather better. Off in the distance we saw movement in the trees – we were about to be attacked by more plants. Remembering the lightning treants, I finished off the last swarm of crystal ants with a Lightning Bolt, as the spell was useless againast trees. Four or five treants came out of the woods – not those lightning treants, thank the gods – and attacked. I used my bond to cast Contagious Flame. It was not as effective as I had hoped – the flame does not echo if the creature it hit dies, and of the four I hit, three were dead in seconds. Further, I cannot aim the echo rays as well as I can when I fire them myself – they are not as precise.

Eventually, we took down the treants with ordinary Scorching Rays and the old standby: hitting them with oddly shaped lumps of metal until they stopped moving.

A great deal else happened, of course. Healing, charging, flying about, shooting things with arrows. But I am concerned that if we can’t get a full night’s rest somehow, we will not be able to succeeed. Additionally, each hour in here is a day outside. Even if we succeed, we may find that we have no kingdom to return to.

On the other hand: what of it? The humans will endure, in their own way, and stopping these Fey from establishing a major foothold on prime is far, far more important than preserving a kingdom all of five years old.

If I can get some damn rest, I will see if I can organise a Rope Trick or better for tomorrow, although it may be impossible to create an extradimensional pocket here.

We must not fail.

Leave a Reply

