Painting Dwarven Forge Cavern Pieces – 6


LAVA!

I am going to attempt the lava. I feel puckish, I feel overconfident, and if I fuck it up then that’s a thing, because I didn’t pay for these things all by myself.

Couple of YouTube videos later, and these are some experiments.

The two on the right seem to work. The rightmost used a much thinner wash for the final red.

First step is the base coat on the floor, and a primer coat on the lava.

The floor is not the charred black basaltic look, but is coloured to match the other tiles.

The primer is straight yellow with some gloss medium. Absolutely necessary. One of the things my experiment uncovered is that paint won’t stick to flat dwarvenite without a little encouragement. Main thing is to stipple at least some primer into the little pools beside the river bank.

(I’ll have to water it down for the wash, hope doing that doesn’t run the gloss effect).

Note the third example in the first picture above. Because the final colours go on runny, brush-marks matter. Which is great, because you can give the lava some texture. So I am using a pattern that – hopefully – creates a roiling sea. Maybe. This undercoat probably won’t affect the final result, but I may as well start as I mean to continue.

The next step will be to ink wash the bank. Slopping a little lava onto the bank is fine: getting muddy brown-black onto the lava will not work.

2 Responses to Painting Dwarven Forge Cavern Pieces – 6

  1. Will says:

    If it really doesn’t work you can always rinse it off and start over.

    I’m doing the water tiles now… Also I tried some gloss artist’s medium on the calcite stalactites to show they are wet.

Leave a Reply

