Machine


Work on The Device proceeds slowly, in fits and starts. I begin to connect together its limbs and sinews out of scraps of brass and other materials. Its heart I also have, but fear that it may not be sufficient for the task.

I must give it nerves, or rather: one nerve, and one eye. Then, God forgive me, I shall give it a brain.

My lodgings have acquired an odd odour – not entirely unpleasant, and I see movement in the corner of my eye.

One Response to Machine

  1. Will says:

    It’s alive…!

Leave a Reply

